Sunday, 24 November 2013

Mixing the new album !

  I have been working on my new album  'The World Looks Very Small From Up Here' for about 6 months now, and today I have sent the final mix off to EMP studios to have it mastered by music guru Mark Elliott.

  I am very pleased with how this 6 track album is turning out. If you have seen me live, you will know that I tend to play solo, accompanying myself with acoustic guitar. On this project I wanted to take that a bit further by adding drums and bass to the mix to give a much fuller sound and a better feel for how I hear the songs in my head.

  I recorded a simple guitar/vocal for all the tracks and then programmed the drums and bass parts myself on the computer. The recording was done at Soundz studios and EMP studios, from which I chose the best result for each track. I think it ended up with 4 tracks from EMP and 2 from Soundz. There is a mixture of new and old songs on this with the track listing as follows;

  1. Madeleine
  2. Portrait of a Cereal Eater
  3. The Second Coming
  4. The Box of Bees
  5. The Man That I Can't Be
  6. A Tale of Winter
 Some of you may have heard some of these live, but there are a couple there that I have never played before. I decided to put in a studio version of Box of Bees because that is one of my most requested songs, as well as being one of my favourites.

There will be more news on the new album soon..........until then...

Cheerio !

No comments:

Post a Comment